Excessive sugar consumption causes many diseases. Some people think that it is the government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption while others think that it is the individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views.

These days victimization to serious diseases as a consequence of limitless consumption of sugar is a common happening. There is an ongoing debate whether government or individuals should act to control this problem. This essay will analyze both aspects of the argument before reaching to a valid conclusion.

The major reason to support the opinion favouring the state is that governing bodies are the ones, having absolute power to implement any change, which can not be opposed by the public. This makes people obliged to follow any new law and legislation that is enforced. Thus, the efficacy of adopting any measure becomes substantially high, which is extremely good for results. What is more, a tax on sugar can be imposed, which will make the prices of the commodity skyrocket. In turn, less sugary products will be available to be afforded by populace. Thus, governmental efforts ensure success at a larger scale. To cite an example, a few years ago a hefty duty was levied on tobacco in India which resulted in a significant fall in its usage.

On the other hand, multiple reasons exist to favour the view of individual approach of addressing the problem. Firstly, self-governance of a person’s lifestyle is the main factor which causes the governmental measures to fail. Until the individuals feel like improving their fitness by limiting sugar intake, every other step will go in vain. Therefore, free will holds the key for prevention of diseases occurring due to unprecedented sugar intake. Moreover, individual consciousness is more effective to control this issue in every age group. As young aged people are not sufficiently able to understand the policies devised by the regime, only elders can guide them through the situation that this habit can cause.

To conclude, an alarming situation has emerged due to high sugar intake, which needs to be addressed at both government and personal level, since without cooperation of public every effort of authorities is futile.