In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen and what can be done to attract more people to visit these places?

In recent times, museums and heritage locations- places of history’s archives, appeal mainly among individuals living in close proximity is subsiding, but the zeal and enthusiasm in overseas visitors for these sites remain unchanged. This essay will shed light on the reasons inflicting this variation and solutions to this menace.

As far as reasons are concerned, the major one is local’s negligence. They exploit the fact that historical places are never going to disappear and being living close to them, they have the luxury to visit them whenever they like. Apart from this, another fact is that today life has become so fast that people find it very difficult to manage their work and life. Therefore, sparing time to visit museums in their day-to-day life becomes next to impossible. Moreover, management of historical places is also to blame for the losing interest of locals. This is because, seldom changes are made in these places and this lack of innovation makes the visits monotonous for visitors. As a result, the place becomes boring and subsequent visits of people become unlikely.

Coming to solutions, the most effective measure would be to popularise museums and historical locations with interactive add-ons with which visitors could interact like by taking pictures to remember the place. To cite an example, madame taussauds is a very popular museum in London where wax figures of various famous personalities from all over the world are showcased and people often interact with them during the visits. Furthermore, promotion campaigns can be initiated in which local residents could get the privilege of free entry passes, thereby boosting the local traffic.

To conclude, not only natives but the museums’ and heritage locations’ authorities are also responsible for the emergence of this disturbing trend. However, with planned promotional schemes the place of museums in society can be re-established.