Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, the question of whether extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing should be prohibited or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although these kinds of sports appear hazardous, their benefits are far more significant.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the idea of banning extreme sports is supported. First, since the weather is unpredictable, extreme sports put high risks of injuries and death on participants. For instance, parachutists could be in danger such as losing navigation or falling if a fierce wind appeared suddenly, which implies that the introduction of prohibition laws is imperative to keep people safe. Second, participants would invest a huge of money in related devices and equipment to pursue their preferences in extreme sports. In fact, people need to devote their time, energy, and money to purchase necessities for extreme sports to guarantee safety when performing, which proves that those kinds of sports are a waste of time and money.

On the other hand, I would argue that it is not necessary to prohibit extreme sports as they bring advantages not only to participants but also to the government. First, since taking part in sports or extreme sports, in particular, is people's preferences, nobody can have the right to ban them. This means that if participants ensure that they have a grasp of skills or knowledge which could protect themselves, they can pursue their personal preferences, which shows the freedom of each person in a country. In addition, those kinds of sports could enrich the national budget due to their popularity like in the present. In fact, in order to prove the power, the majority of the wealthy tend to favor extreme sports over other ubiquitous and monotonous sports, which implies that extreme sports could be a contributing factor to the economic development.

In conclusion, although demerits of risky sports are recognized, these pale into significance when compared to the merits. By understanding the risks and taking the appropriate precautions, those who enjoy experiencing thrilling sensations in sports could have the right to pursue their preferences.