Extreme sports such as skydiving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, the prevalence of extreme sports as well as the danger they present have raised the question whether they should be prohibited. I strongly believe that these activities are relatively safe when done correctly and should not be deemed illegal. This essay will first mention precautionary measures that have been implemented to improve participants’ safety then go on to illustrate the benefits these sports offer.

The suggestion of banning extreme sports on account of the risks they pose is not well grounded as they are actually much less perilous than people are led to believe. Unlike the stigma of being reckless or self-destructing activities, most extreme sports require the participants to strictly adhere to accepted protocols to guarantee maximal safety. For example, these sets of rules and regulations dictate that people who take part in extreme sports are required to undergo appropriate training so that the dangers are minimized. Besides, beginners are not allowed to do these sports solo and must be accompanied by an experienced professional. Furthermore, the innovations in terms of protective equipment have made accidents less likely to occur. As is often the case, players are fully equipped with state-of-the-art gear, which drastically reduces the likelihood of fatal consequences that may result from any simple mishap.

Moreover, when the benefits these activities provide are taken into account, banning them would be unimaginably detrimental to the nation’s economy and well-being. Like their conventional counterparts, extreme sports generate a plethora of income contributing to the national economy. Specifically, the industry creates thousands of jobs manufacturing equipment and contributes millions of dollars in tax to the nation’s treasury. Besides, the high-risk-high-reward nature of these sports encourages players to keep up an adequate level of physical fitness as well as mental stability. For example, in mountain climbing, participants are instructed to get fit and stay in shape by doing a series of lesser challenges before they can finally take on their main goals, considerably benefiting players’ stamina, agility and flexibility.