Few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

While some languages have become more and more universal, a number of others have increasingly lost their popularity. This phenomenon consists of both positive and negative impacts on the social development of many countries, which I will consider now.

On the one hand, many people are concerned that the underlying values of a language will be vanished if it is no longer spoken. Not merely words or sentences, languages are ways of interpreting the world, and different languages provide distinct pathways of thought and frameworks for thinking and solving problems. Therefore, if a language is on the brink of extinction, its ancient wisdom and unique knowledge might also be endangered. Moreover, in the same way as scientists have effortlessly struggled to protect species and maintain biodiversity, we should stop languages from dying out if we treasure the cultural diversity of human beings.

Nonetheless, language variation might become a significant obstacle for social integration and personal development. For instance, while fluent English speakers are more likely to adapt quickly to international environments in which English is universal language, non-English speaking people might face various difficulties in communicating and acquiring knowledge. On a larger scale, common languages enhance the positive aspects of globalization because people of diverse nationalities are able to interact and collaborate effectively with one another. When knowledge is widespread, many issues relating to education, health care or science are more likely to be tackled.

Overall, the domination of some languages is beneficial, but to some extent, the disappearance of others is negative, indeed catastrophic because when a language die, part of the cultural and traditional heritage of mankind will be gone forever.