Films can tell us a lot about the country where they were made. What have you learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

Film industry acts as a medium to convey the information about a specific region to the world. Indeed, international awards are mostly given to movies which reflect local culture where they are produced. Therefore, movies and nations are closely bonded to each other. In this essay, I would like to discuss the aspects that connect these two and my experience about a country through the celluloid medium.

Admittedly, there are certain aspects in the movies that truly portray the context of the nations. Firstly, the roles that are assigned and conversations amongst them reveal the local dialects and how their emotions reflect a particular cause. Secondly, the storyline of the film is sequenced in order to bring out local issues that the country face. To be specific, in some circumstances, these sort of movies have a wider crimes, local war and genocides that happen in a country. Thirdly, a nation’s natural sceneries and tourist attractions displayed in films pave the way for more tourists to visit there. Thus, their tourism industry has a better chance to grow abundantly.

From my experience, since I regularly watch Chinese movies, it enabled me to come to know several positive aspects that China has. To illustrate this, most of the movies made in China have fight sequences, for instance, ‘Kung Fu’ which is an ancient martial art. This specific art has motivated me to explore more about that. Moreover, I have learned the traditional gestures to greet a person in China from those movies. Besides, I also had an opportunity to know about very old Chinese culture, civilisation and identity. Thus, a bunch of information about China has been revealed from their films.

To recapitulate, movies have a stronger power to make a huge impact on others by sending powerful messages and notions to the world. Hence, evidently, it is recommended that watching a nation’s authentic movies would help us obtain a lot of information about that country.