Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

Filmmaking has been expanded from being processed solely by professional studios to personal producers since more people are gaining access to cinematic techniques at an affordable price. In my opinion, this is a positive trend.

First of all, this trend can boost innovations to take place. Big companies are no longer the only player competing in the market. Although brand awareness is still one of the decisive factors in the success of the film industry and this can encourage the giants to come up with more fresh ideas and seek for more creations. For example, an independent film project entitled “Saigon Sunny Days”, directed by a Vietnamese director, found great successes while competing with other 18 entries by famed directors all over the world.

Second of all, the less complex filmmaking process is also beneficial to people who pick up filming merely as a hobby or a means to express themselves. Shooting films itself is a fascinating and utterly harmless activity, it allows people to keep their wonderful moments around them. In addition, multiple cameras make shooting easier as shooting digitally can shoot multiple takes, and to get multiple angles more economically. In other words, the combination of low-cost equipment and the enthusiasm of amateur filmmakers enhances an individual’s spiritual life and might lead to the discovery of one’s hidden talent.

In conclusion, being able to make a film on our own is no short of its merits. This trend also plays a vital role in shaping public opinions and raising awareness due to its direct impact on a culture basis.