Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The modern world is inconceivable without financial literacy. However, there are plenty of proponents to include financial disciplines into the school educational programs. I am tend to agree on importance of financial education but its intense should be limited though.

From the beginning of school days, a child encounters a new environment and learns not only new subjects, but also being independent and making decisions. It creates a great deal of pressure along with the social aspects to make new friends and communications. Nevertheless, a teenager is still under control of teachers and parents to facilitate their educational process. That is why I consider the pupils’ additional responsibility in financial questions as something excessive.

However, kids at elementary school are already aware of the concept of money, its exchange property and purchasing power. Along with it, there are many natural financial aspects, which could be crucially useful on a daily basis later. For example, these are the concept of salary and professionalism, the idea of bets and financial pyramids, interest rates, deposits as a mean to protect wealth and loans such as mortgage in particularly. The information is helpful for graduates in taking decisions on their further life and occupations.

In order to gain benefits of financial knowledge which is naturally applied in daily practice, I am all for the early inclusion of appropriate topics into the school program. However, the subject should not be discriminative in terms of grades and its extent should be limited to the practical needs of an average individual.