Financial education should be a compulsory component of the school program.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a school of thought that offering mandatory financial courses should be a part of the teaching program. From my perspctive, I agree with this statement to some extent but I believe there are methods that are just as important as teaching finance at school and having a link between schools and families is more important.

First, although teaching finance can be beneficial and important as it provides children with knowledge about finance and help them to manage their money better in the future. However, if students are forced to learn something, the lessons may not be effective but become really boring for young learners. Thus, compulsory financial courses will become counterproductive. Apart from that, students have very little chance to apply their lessons to the real world and it is not good for their later lives as the financial world we live in is changing rapidly.

Apart from teaching finance in school, parents guidance also plays a crucial role in helping kids to understand the financial world as financial lessons given in schools may be impractical and learning parents can be good examples for their children by showing them how to manage financial tasks. The examples from their parents will help them understand their lessons in school better and thus, they will understand the importance of having financial skills such as making budgets or saving money. To help children to have a chance to practise, parents can also encourage children to spend money wisely by giving them some pocket money and show them how to use it appropriately, parents can also reward children if they manage to save some money.

In conclusion, mandatory financial programs is not really necessary. It is more important to have a close cooperation between schools and families to help children understand the financial world.