Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Finance is an essential component of everyone’s life, and money management is a necessary skill that one should acquire and practice during his / her earning period in life. Here it is stated that teaching the basics of finance should be made part of the school curriculum. Education on finance appears to be useful and worthwhile for higher secondary school students, while it seems impractical for lower classes, as it may turn out to be beyond their comprehension.

Including sessions on finance would help the students in many ways. If classes on finance are made compulsory, the students will get the preliminary understanding of the importance of money and its management. This would probably develop in them a saving habit, by which they can generate a portion of their educational expenses such as tuition fees and other daily expenditure. It will relieve their parents to a great extent, as many of them are struggling hard day in and day out to meet the educational expense of their children.

Additionally, the lessons on finance would be beneficial for the students in their later life. Once they get these classes, they would be able to manage money very judiciously which would also positively influence the family budgeting and help maintain the income-expense equilibrium. Financially successful people are found to have undergone financial classes in the schools.

At the same time, it is preferable to exclude these lessons from primary classes. One reason is that lower class students will probably find it difficult to follow such deliverance. If the classes are beyond their comprehension, it would negatively affect their learning skills. Moreover, schools should give more importance to learning the necessary skills such as reading, writing and arithmetic at the primary level.

In conclusion, it appears that classes on finance and its management are excellent and even essential for senior class students as it would prove beneficial to them both in the present and future life. However, it may be avoided in primary classes, due to the intricacies involved in such lessons.