Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that school level curriculum must include finances related education. In my opinion, this could help young children in handling their finances better in adult life, however, this might create more problems than helping the budding scholars.

By including financial studies in a school program may equip students with a knowldege of handling money matters in adult life in a smarter way. To some extent this seems to be a good option. As we have seen many adults who are unable to attend secondary or tertiary level of education, are poor in handling finances. As a result they are more prone to debt and credit issues.This vulerability can be mitigated by enriching young minds with some knowledge about acoounting at early age.

On the flip side, obligatory introduction of financial education in the syllabus at school level, might cause additional burden on the students. As they have to learn more important subjects, like, science, language , mathematics. Additional subject could have negative impact on the main core learning. Moreover, School level education is not at the level to teach comlex subject of accounting and finance. Young children would be overwhelmed to learn this. This makes the teaching of financial education as a unhealthy option.

To conclude, children could benefit from financial education at early schooling, but it is not free from the adverse effects of unnecessary stress on young minds. They need to focus on other important subjects to enrich themselves with wisdom.