The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of the cars on the roads is on the increase, which includes serious repercussions for the environment and population. In my opinion, other forms of transport should be introduced and the ownership and usage of vehicles should be limited by international laws.

The problem caused by the growing number of automobiles might be alleviated by developing alternative forms of transport such as trains and buses. Compared to cars, they are environmentally more friendly owing to the little amount of emission that they produce, which contribute to the greenhouse gasses. Moreover, public transportation is equipped with fast and safe services, thereby reducing the the traffic accident rates ant the amount of time spent on commuting. Hence, improving public transport amenities might lead to a drop int eh number of vehicles on the roads.

There are numerous ways that the authorities could gain control over the acquisition of cars if they impose several international policies. this way people are more liable to follow the rules and the results would be immediate. For instance, rising vehicle ownership fees could act as a deterrent to people, who strive to possess more than one car. As a consequence, this would foster to use public transportation more often decreasing the traffic density in rush hours, which is one of the main issues that people living in urban areas. Thus, by formulating taxes, the government should obtain the ability to attain a regulation over automobile ownership.

In conclusion, it was demonstrated that the implications of the increasing rate of using cars on the roads may be relieved with the advancement of public transport facilities and with stricter laws on car acquisition and usage.