The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The fast growth of technology combined with the higher demand of people in car ownership has lead to a dramatic increase in the number of vehicles on British road nowadays. Due to this situation, many individuals argue that there should be alternative transportation and laws also need to control car ownership. In my opinion, I tend to agree with this statement.

From the perspective of many individuals, car ownership may bring many benefits to their daily lives. First, having their own car may make them feel more comfortable and convenient. For example, people could use their own vehicle to drive to their home or their company in any time, in stead of waiting for a bus or train. Besides, having a car is also an common way for people to show off their wealth and boost their reputation. Many people spend a lot of money buying expensive cars which belong to famous brand such as BMW or Mercedes just to satisfy their demand.

However, on the other hand, car ownership may do more harm than good. The most serious consequence is that the more cars on streets, the higher amount of CO2 emissions in the atmosphere. As a result, this will lead to air pollution as well as global warming. Furthermore, owned car is also a key factor influencing the traffic congestion in big cities. The enormous number of cars on the roads make reduce the spaces for other vehicles and eventually cause serious congestions especially in rush hours.

In conclusion, I argue that it is necessary to control the fast increase of car ownership in this modern society due to its drawbacks.