The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there

may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and

international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tomorrow, there will be no space for any means of transportation other cars on the road of Britain. The alarming plight raise a wake-up call in society as the consequences of remarkable and significantly increasing in car’s production and consumption. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million cars on Britain’s street leading to a suggestion of encouraging alternatives for transporting and establishing international laws to control car ownership and use. Personally, I completely concur with the former but have a doubt on the latter in terms of practical application.

The alternative forms of transport should be encouraged is anchored for a reason that this would help reducing the emission of carbon dioxide, like using public transportation, going on a bike or walking if any. A sedan car carries maximum of 4 people and even 7 people for an SUV might not be considered as friendly with environment since it leaks a great amount of harmful gas to atmosphere, while a tram or an electric car does not. In addition, using some medium of transportation outside cars would have a tremendous benefit to the health in general. Many people in modern society are bereft of daily exercise leading to the high risk of disease such as heart attack or obesity while going on a bike, walking or using public transportation would reduce this risk.

Another school of thought that government should validate the laws on controlling car ownership and use and apply this worldwide. However, this suggestion in fragile and devoid of substance because many countries put the liberation and democracy as ultimate purpose in which this statements could raise a debate and clearly argument in any social class. People have the same right, and this right of owning property is undeniable. Taking away or putting it in control might not a prudent and wisely regulation.

Subsequently weighing all the afore mention, it can be safety to state that seeking the supporting of citizen in using more friendly environment vehicles instead of car is indispensable and becoming an essential duty for any government in the world. Beside, enforcing any law for restriction of car ownership and use should be studied carefully because of its sensitiveness.