In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

100% of the world population will die tomorrow for the reason of being obesity or heart attack for the reason of eating a large amount of junk foods. The alarming plight raise a wake-up call in society as the consequence of remarkable and significant rising of people who suffered from health problems. This concern leads to a suggestion that should government impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Personally, I concur with this statement but have a little doubt on the possibility of applying this in practical.

The idea of imposing higher tax on fast food is anchored for a reason that the consequence of this action will lead to an increasing in prices. Therefore, the number of people who can afford this meal will reduce as a result of basic relationship in economy, higher price - lower demand. For instance, a teenager boy who receives 2 dollars of allowance each day might have enough money to buy a hamburger at a price of 2 dollars; but if a hamburger is sold at 3 dollars as a result of higher consumption tax, this boy would have to consider whether buy it or not because he could not afford this meal. In addition, the revenue from tax for government might witness an increasing in general, leading to a surplus in total federal fund. This surplus could be used as a support for national health fund in raising public awareness of the harmful effect of eating too much fast food.

However, this suggestion is fragile and devoid of substance because many governments have to take this issue in considering the two side effect on both general economic and social life. It can not be denied that income tax is the primary source for any government and this tax contribution would be decreased as a results of reducing sales. Moreover, eating is the basic right of human being and imposing higher tax on fast food in order to reduce the consumption of this food could raise a clear debate in society.

Subsequently weighing all the afore mention, it can be safety to state that imposing a higher tax on junk food is a necessary action but many factors need to be considered such as the tax rate or practical application process.