Foreign tourists should be charged more than local people when visiting cultural and historical attractions in that country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the tourism industry has become an essential source of national income. Some argue that the expenditure of foreign visitors should be higher than the locals in terms of sightseeing both cultural and historical places. In my opinion, I believe that each and every tourist should be charged equally.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people think that foreigners should pay more money than the dwellers when visiting another nation. Since a majority of visitors come from developed countries such as The United States, Great Britain and France, their incomes should always be expectedly far greater than the residents in destination sites. Therefore, most locals would agree with the higher charge of foreign visitors compared to the locals. Furthermore, extracting from other countries’ citizens definitely contributes to the host nation’s revenue rather than taking money from the local residents.

However, despite the fact that western tourists may earn bigger salaries than individuals in other continents which have more cultural and historical attractions, the fee of visiting these locations still need to be equal among visitors. The difference in money charging could raise a disagreement from international tourists leading to reducing the number of annual visitors. For example, Vietnam’s income from tourism in 2015 reportedly dropped from 240 billion Vietnam Dongs to 170 billion due to the dissatisfaction of international visitors about being charged higher than the locals at every public visiting location.

In conclusion, I believe that all tourists should be charged the same fee when visiting cultural and historical attractions regardless of where they come from.