Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

During the time in university, some students choose to stay with their family whereas others decide to live apart from their close relatives. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of each option.

To begin with, there are one main benefit and a downside of living with parents when studying at university. The good side is that students would have more time to interact with their family members after school. They, therefore, will build up a stronger family bond than those who live in a different place. In Vietnam, for example, surveys show that college students feel more connected to their families when staying at home as they can share and get advice from other family members for any experiences at school. However, choosing to live with family may decrease students’ social connection. Going home after finishing studying means that people will have less time to hang out with peers resulting in a poorer social experience.

Likewise, living separately from families brings a merit and poses a big problem to students at the same time. The huge advantage of this tendency is that it will give the students more private space to do whatever they like and desire without any interference from their parents. This means that individuals will have more freedom in their lifestyle. For instance, many students have said that they are completely free to participate in extreme sports after moving out of their parents’ house. Before that, they have been under some control and restrictions of their families. Unfortunately, university students will have to face some monetary issues when they live outside of their families’ house. Although most tuition fees are covered by their parents, the expenses such as accommodation and their pastimes are students’ personal matters to deal with by themselves.

In conclusion, there are advantage and disadvantage of each choice that the young have to consider carefully at the time they go to the university.