Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that fossil fuel is humans’ primary power source, and the use of alternative energy sources is encouraged in several nations. Personally, I believe that this is a fundamentally welcome development.

One might argue that natural energy resources are unreliable, given that they depend almost entirely on weather and climate factors. For instance, solar panels and windmills are only functional when there are sunshine and strong winds, unlike fossil fuels, which will always work regardless of weather fluctuations. However, this line of reasoning is not sound, considering that scientists have recently developed power storage technologies and equipment that can store excess natural energy for later usage. It is also believed that they can be expensive and unaffordable for lower-income classes, but with the recent advancements of technology, the costs for wind turbines and solar grids have been plummeting. These resources are also capable of generating much larger amounts of energy compared to fossil fuels, rendering them more cost-effective.

Another great benefit of alternative sources of energy is that they can help alleviate current environmental problems. This is because traditional energy sources emit colossal amounts of carbon dioxide and other toxic pollutants during both production and usage, making them some of the main key drivers behind air pollution and climate change. Therefore, if the use of natural energy sources is widely promoted in place of fossil fuels, the current environmental crisis will be substantially mitigated. Renewable resources are also superior to fossil fuels due to the fact that they can be naturally replenished. To illustrate, solar energy will continue to be recharged by the sun for billions of years, while it is estimated that common fossil fuels like oil and coal will be fully depleted within a few decades. and they will likely be able to cater to the energy demands of thousands of generations to come.

In summary, it is my conviction that the promotion of the use of alternative energy sources is a positive phenomenon due to the tremendous benefits it brings about.