Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is observed that many popular athletes are promoting sports goods. This trend, albeit having some potential benefits, can bring with it several negative effects.

Granted, there are numerous advantages that come with well-known sports players endorsing sports products. To begin with, sports stars can easily earn large amounts of money from advertising, as seen in the case of Cristiano Ronaldo, a prominent football player who makes tens of millions of dollars per year just from his endorsements. This opportunity encourages less popular players to work hard to become famous, thus improving the quality of sports games and benefiting the world of sports as a whole. In addition, given that fans tend to trust their favourite athletes, they are likely to purchase the products they endorse, hence more profits for companies and more advertisement offers for athletes. They may also feel more confident and play sports more frequently when they are wearing the same sports shoes or using the same equipment as their idols, thus boosting their physical health and well-being.

However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, some products advertised by sports players may not be healthy and trustworthy. For instance, some athletes promote instant weight loss pills and supplements, which can have numerous adverse effects on their users’ health, namely restlessness and high blood pressure. Therefore, fans who buy such products may face dangerous health problems, which would deal a blow to the athletes’ reputation. Secondly, some sports stars may become too occupied with their endorsements and gradually spend less time training and brushing up on their skills. This can negatively affect their performance and worsen the quality of their games, causing their fame to diminish. To illustrate, the 2018 Vietnamese U23 football team gained immense popularity after a series of impressive achievements, but many of its members quickly got worse and lost their prominence after they agreed to endorse too many brands and corporations.

In summary, it is my conviction that the advantages of the current trend of famous athletes advertising sports products pale in comparison with its disadvantages.