Fossil fuels (coal, oil and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) is encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Despite the fact that we live in an age when many countries consider fossil fuels as the main resources, in some nations, renewable sources of energy such as wind power still receive positive encouragement. In my view, the merits of these incentives prevail over their downside.

On the one hand, one of the most significant stumbling blocks of these non-conventional energies is that they are considered to be exorbitant. With regard to the former, households may have to allocate an eye-watering cost to install these power plants. A good illustration of this can be seen in the UK where the cost of installing heat pumps, a machine that is viewed to be environmentally friendly, into someone’s home could hit 35,000 pounds. As a result, those families who face financial problems may incline not to afford these systems. However, If your home and pockets are fit for installing these machines, in the long term these can offer some certainty amid the massively fluctuating gas prices and the related energy prices over the years, decreasing one’s dependence on such a volatile market, particularly now.

Nevertheless, despite the aforementioned downsides, there are several advantages which can be reaped from these renewable sources of energy. Chief among these is that the value of these energies does not come in financial form, but rather, in terms of predictability and eco-friendliness. Compared to fossil fuel ones, these sources of energy provide more renewable energy, capable of generating energy for less effort and require little-to-no electricity to run, thereby saving a substantial amount of workforce and money. Another benefit could be that these energies can be used as a means to generate money. Since this can produce a great amount of energy easily, it can be utilised to vend the redundant ones to authorities and thus alleviating the pressure on family expenditure.

In conclusion, despite the demerits of alternative sources of energy including expensive installation costs, the positive effects in terms of eco-friendliness are of greater benefit. Therefore, I hold the belief that this development is such a positive one.