Fossil fuels (coal, oil and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In many parts of the world, despite fossil fuels being the primary sources for energy production, it is suggested that alternative sources of energy, such as wind and solar energy should rather be exploited. Although I deem that this suggestion is not without negatives, its positives would be more significant.

There could be two disadvantages of the change towards using renewable energy. Firstly, prohibitive construction costs of plants that exploit such power would place a heavy burden on government funds. For example, it would cost the government

millions of dollars to build a hydroelectric dam or install solar panels to harness solar power on a large scale. Secondly, it would be demanding to operate wind turbines or solar panels every hour. Specifically, some countries where wind is

usually light are unable to rely on wind power, and they cannot use solar power to generate electricity at night, which proves such sources of energy to be ineffective.

Nonetheless, due to certain great benefits, I believe that promoting the use of alternative energy seems vital. First, in light of environmental contamination, renewable energy could be a good substitute for fossil fuels. In comparison with

fossil fuels which emit tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions when they are burned, wind, solar and tidal power are entirely natural sources of energy which prove eco-friendly and release no harmful gases, reducing the levels of air pollutants and

improving the air quality. Furthermore, fossil fuels, like natural gas or oil, are finite resources and will soon be depleted, which will potentially threaten the economy if there are no alternative sources. This fact emphasizes the need to develop renewable energy to gradually replace traditional sources when fossil fuels run out.

In conclusion, notwithstanding a number of drawbacks of harnessing alternative energy, the switch from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources is a positive and sustainable development for the planet.