fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources of energy in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many hold the view that it is a positive development for some countries to apply alternative energy sources to replace traditional ones. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that the use of such new energy. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the newly-exploited energy can reduce the environmental pollution, since such alternative energy sources as solar or wind power are clean and produce no emissions when they are used to operate machines, like cars. Apart from that, the alternative power can avoid energy crisis for they are renewable. For example, when the solar energy is used to replace petrol to run cars, it will not be depleted due to the fact that it is infinite and also this traditional fuel will be preserved.

On the other hand, however, it is expensive to employ the alternative source. The reason is that the machines powered by wind or sun are specially made, which means that the raw material for these devices is rare and costs factories a fortune to collect. Furthermore, the new energy may be low efficient. To be specific, as modern technology is not advanced enough to exploit the pristine solar power completely and efficiently apply it in industrial activities.

To summarize, there is no doubt that employing the fresh energy is a good way to protect the environment and provide human beings with endless resources. At the same time, however, the energy is costly with low efficiency. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that the sustainable energy source has more positives than negatives.