fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources of energy in many countries, but in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many hold the view that using alternative energies has a positive impact on society, while there is a body of opinion which holds that developing alternative energies is negative. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that using alternative energies can help decline the environmental pollution, since such energies as solar or wind power are clean and produce no emissions when they are used to operate machines, like cars. Apart from that, alternative energies can avoid energy crisis for they are renewable. For example, solar energy replaces petrol to run cars without being depleted due to the fact that it is infinite and also this traditional fuel will be preserved.

On the other hand, however, using alternative energies is expensive. The reason is that the machines powered by these energies are specially made, which means that the raw material for these devices is rare and costs factories a fortune to collect. Furthermore, the new energy may be low efficient. To be specific, as modern technology is not advanced enough to exploit the pristine solar power completely and efficiently apply it in industrial activities.

To summarize, there is no doubt that employing alternative energies is a good way to protect the environment and provide human beings with endless resources. At the same time, however, alternative energy has a low efficiency and high costs. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that alternative energies have more positive effects.