Fossil fuels, such as coal, oil and natural gas, are the main source for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy such as solar power and wind power. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Fossil fuels still remain as a main source of energy for various countries throughout the world. However, developed nations have gradually shifted to alternative energy sources like solar and wind power. In my opinion, while there exists numerous issues at first, in the long-term, this change will be beneficial to the Earth.

On one hand, the most noticeable problem of this change is high cost. Investing in a new technology will undoubtedly need a huge amount of money, which can be a great issue for poor countries. Installation cost, meanwhile, can be the same or even higher than researching one. For instance, in Vietnam, the government may have to spend hundreds of millions of dollars to install just one wind field, as the process includes choosing the proper site, suitable technology, employment cost and so on. Such high costs have made shifting to modern energy a great threat to the country’s economy as the change can make the government go into debt.

However, alternative energy will still do more good than harm for the world in the future. The key argument is that renewable sources like solar and wind are stable; in other words, they are unlimited and do not emit carbon to the environment. Carbon dioxide is known to be the main cause of different environmental problems such as global warming, mass extinctions and ice melting at the poles, and reducing carbon emissions can alleviate the aforementioned issue and protect biodiversity. As a result, future generations can have a better living condition, get rid of pollution issues and have a sustainable life thanks to renewable energy. This advantage obviously outweighs the foreseen problem of money.

In conclusion, I believe that renewable energy should be gradually applied to all nations in the world, and nations should unite to research and develop this crucial technology together to make the Earth a better place for humanity.