Fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas are the main energy source

for many countries. However, some nations are using alternative energy

such as solar power, or wind power. To what extent do you think this is a

positive or negative development?

The consensus view is that energy is a foundation stone of every emerging economy. While fossil fuels are the primary sources of energy in many countries, several nations are utilizing alternative energy sources. From my point of view, I suppose that shifting towards using alternative energy is a worthwhile investment.

It is true that fossil fuels are used to generate the majority of the world's energy which exert adverse effects on both environment and human health. To begin with, nonrenewable energy such as oil and coal are overexploited as a result of ever - increasing industrialization, which may lead to the degradation of the environment. Massive strip-mining operations, for example, release a great amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere causing air pollution. Furthermore, due to the tremendous amount of emission from petroleum - powered vehicles, several metropolises around the world such as Shanghai, Beijing, and London have suffered from hazardous air quality that poses a threat to the citizens’ health problems, especially respiratory disorders.

I believe that attaching significance to alternative energy is advantageous. Firstly, power from wind or sun is more sustainable than coal and oil. Instead of the reliance on finite resources, harnessing solar, wind or hydro-electric power which is renewable results in a long - term development. In fact, many first - class nations such as Japan pursue their purpose of a green economy by launching several policies namely Japan Renewable Energy Policy Platform. Secondly, the power from renewable resources is radically eco- friendly. According to the International Renewable Energy Agency, currently 220 million to 330 million tons of annual carbon dioxide are saved due to solar photovoltaics. Moreover, thanks to using alternatives, we can halt the imminent energy crisis, specifically the global depletion of natural resources.

In conclusion, I believe that investing in renewable energy sources rather than relying on fossil fuels may help us reap numerous health and environmental benefits.