In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely anticipated that in the years to come, driverless automobiles would gradually takeover human drivers and be common on the roads. However, there is no consensus on whether driverless cars do more good than harm. I opine that while some drawbacks definitely exist, the benefits of vehicles without drivers exceed them and that such automobiles are the future of human transportation.

Critics often hold the opinion that when malfunctions or emergency occurs, passengers in the driverless cars would be difficult to control the car to prevent further damage and save their lives. It also raises a question of who should be responsible when accidents occur: the passengers, the robot cars or the car manufacturers. Another downside commonly discussed is that it may cause further job losses in the harsh society where employment is already a problem that manifests. Where would bus and truck drivers go once robot take over them?

Despite the critiques, there are many noticeable advantages that can be brought about by automatic vehicles which could hugely benefit the human society. Firstly, it could greatly enhance the safety of travelling that could eliminate dangers caused by human factors. Nowadays, drunk driving is a main player in road accident. After dining outside or participating in parties, many people could be too drunk to drive but still confident that they are conscious and would not run into trouble. By introducing driverless cars, such matters could be prevented and benefit not only the drivers and passengers themselves, but the lives of other drivers and the pedestrians. The same goes for drivers who could easily enter a state of road rage. Besides, with advanced detectors and algorithms, the robotic cars could solve the problem of congestion on the roads and enhancing travelling efficiency by selecting the best route and driving orderly. Last but not least, robotic cars would require regular updates and maintenance, which could provide new job opportunities.

In conclusion, automobiles without human drivers is the future solution for travelling and its positive side is greater than its disadvantages. Over time, technology would improve and the downsides could be effectively solved.