In the future, nobody will buy printed books and newspapers because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As technology has become more accessible in recent years, the popularity of reading e – books and online news are now increasing rapidly. As a reader of eBooks and online news, I totally agree that printed products would no longer exist, because online books and news are definitely a better alternative for reading.

Firstly, people choose e-books and news websites because of its inexpensiveness. As the name suggests, public information is available for the public with no requirements. Printed newspapers may cost a cent but news websites cost nothing. With e-books, it is mostly free but there are some exceptions, but only affordable price, thanks to no cost of production, along with logistics and distribution, which can results in a more intelligent civilization.

There are some arguments with people supporting printed books, that e-books only exist on expensive electronic devices and require the internet to read. However, with a phone costs $250. With $250, you can buy only 10 books and 25000 newspapers, but with a phone, how many books can you download? Unlimited. About the internet, some book apps don’t require the internet for readers to read books.

Secondly, reading printed books harms the environment, because all those pages are made of wood, which means a lot of trees are destroyed. In a survey conducted by Harvard University, 30 million trees are cut down annually only to print books. It is also a fact that paper books and newspapers to be delivered in vehicles that emits carbon monoxide. Printed products are packed a lot so there are tons of wasted cardboards every year. In addition, the printing ink contains harmful chemicals.

It is undeniable to say that looking into the screen all the time is harmful to your eyes while reading online books and news, but, there are some apps that had reduced green lights for people to read while not straining their eyes. Even printed books read in a dark place would really hurts the eyes. Paper books can only be read in bright places.

In conclusion, although online news and books have some potential drawbacks, in my opinion, it is better to read online news and books.