In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people support that in the future, printed newspapers or books will be overwhelmed because online reading materials are more and more popular. Personally, I emphatically disagree with the aforementioned idea.

On the one hand, we can not deny some of the strengths of online reading. When we read electronic documents, we will not have to spend money on buying books or printing materials and can still read them anytime, anywhere thanks to electronic devices such as smartphones, computers, tablets, etc. To illustrate, if a student needs to find information about the law on environmental protection, he can look it up on the internet instead of wasting time going to the bookstore to find these related books. In addition, at the weekend, we want to go to cafe shops to sip a cup of tea and read books, we need only bring a compact smartphone or tablet instead of holding a thick book.

On the other hand, although there are a lot of digital books which are free, some documents are not accessible without money. A huge number of important electronic documents which are copyrighted by the producers require readers to pay a fee in order to read them. For instance, websites learning IELTS such as DOL.vn or Thanh Loan Ielts charge users when they want to refer to the correct answers and detailed explanation of the Reading or Listening section. Moreover, reading online does not help individuals have a visual depth about problems mentioned in documents. Because when they read printed books or magazines, they can directly highlight essential issues and express them in their own mind. Therefore, readers can understand deeply and remember longer than just skimming with smartphones or laptops.

In conclusion, even though electronic books are growing with the development of technology, I completely believe that not all online documents are free to use and printed newspapers or books play an important role in our lives.