In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is the case that online documents and newspapers are becoming increasingly prevalent in today state of the art. While i accept that online newspaper is likely to replace traditional one, i believe that printed books still hold irreplaceable important values that make people pay for them.

On the one hand, i would argue that printed newspapers will be replaced by their online counterpart. Firstly, since the communication technologies grow significantly, people today require news to be delivered at a tremendous speed which printed newspaper are incapable of having. To illustrate, the 2020 presidential election of the US government’s status need to be updated continuously to show the comparable electoral votes, which is a feature that traditional newspaper lack of. Secondly, a normal people who can afford a regular Internet service could engage in reading news online without any payment barrier unlike printed newspaper. This paves the way for individuals experiencing a shortage of drives to purchase traditional newspaper, leading to falls in annual revenues and unaffordable labour cost.

On the other hand, printed documents, especially books, have remarkable values. The first value is that printed books are essential items for book lovers and enthusiasts to collect, because these type of products have traditional and classic features. As a result, these individuals buying books not only to discover their content but also to display and organize them as a decoration. The second value is that although using ebooks become a common way to read, a rare range of electrical devices are designed for people’s eyes to watch for hours without suffering any optical disorders. Therefore, printed books are still having advantages for long time usage with no prior charging require, and are still a versatile and comfortable items for people to bring when they hanging out ranging from daily work to abroad travel.

In conclusion, while i accept that in the future the online newspapers can replace traditional one, i believe people will continue to use printed books and other type of documents.