Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today Some people think that it will improve people s lives in many ways Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, it is widely argued whether genetic modification is a possible danger for our planet or if it could be viewed as a positive development for the lives of most people in various ways. Personally speaking, I believe that, although genetic engineering can have some negative implications, in overall it can significantly improve the quality of life on earth.

The main two arguments of those who consider genetic technologies as a threat to the environment and its natural inhabitants are the following; First of all, a lot of people believe that genetically modified food could possibly temper the balance of various ecosystems around the world. For example, by cultivating special crops that are resistant in diseases and their natural predators in places like Egypt, could have a negative effect for the environment. Secondly, there are those who view genetic coding as an even bigger danger for humans. That is because many people fear that this technology will be used by governments to raise new armies by creating genetically developed men and start world war between continents.

A more optimistic view, and one that I favor, recognizes the possibly negative outcomes of the above-mentioned technology, however, estimates that governments and people can help themselves greatly by using it reasonably. Genetic engineering can help by creating more crops and multiplying the amount of food available on the planet. Therefore, famine which is one of the most severe problems in Africa, can be directly addressed. In addition, genetic technology can facilitate the effort of producing new medicine, such as vaccine or anti-biotics, and help mankind deal with long-term illnesses like cancer.

In conclusion, I believe that genetic engineering can increase in many ways the quality of life on earth, despite its potentially hazardous misuse.