In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

It is becoming more and more frequent, recently, seeing employees and employers to work plenty of hours. Many reasons can be offered to explain this, but it should definitely be seen as a negative trend.

Firstly, the main reason why people spend too much hours at their work is the belief. The majority of workers believe that the dedicated employee is the one who stays at the workplace longer than anyone. For example, in Greece, lawyers, whatever their timetable is, usually work until 8 o' clock in the evening, in order to be presented as good lawyers. Secondly, one crucial reason of this trend is the disproportionality of the work that must be done in comparison with the employees. As society grows, companies require a lot of work to be completed. However, in the same time the latter are not able to hire the percentage of employees that is needed so as to deal with this high amount of work. As a result, people tend to work extra hours to fill the gap.

Undoubtably, this trend has a negative impact on the lifestyle on a huge number of people, especially regarding their health. Since individuals have to spend more time at their work, they do not have time to take care of themselves. Consequently, their work-life figure is unbalanced. According to the Mental Health Foundation, one in six of us will experience a mental health problem caused by the work-related stress, which is occurred by the increased work. A keyway to protect our mental health against the potential detrimental effects of work-related stress is to ensure we have a healthy work-life balance.

In conclusion, it is the belief and the work culture which come about increased working hours; a situation that must be perceived as a negative development.