Given high unemployment rate, it is recommended that the government only provide primary education and no secondary education. What do you think?

Some argue that the governmental provision of education should stop at the primary level rather than going on to secondary due to the continuous increase of the unemployment rate. I disagree with that statement because such stage of education provides fundamental skills and knowledge to students.

It is understandable why people suggest that governments should cease the delivering of secondary education during the time of unemployment crisis. One reason is that the national budget is being used up at a worrying speed to support a large number of jobless people. Consequently, the remaining revenues for subsidizing other aspects should be controlled strictly. In this case, since the primary education is indispensable, any post-primary education should be considered unnecessary. Thus, ceasing the provision of secondary schooling is inevitable. Another reason is that most individuals who could not find an occupation are likely not able to fully finish this stage of studying due to personal issues. Therefore, it could be a waste when offering these people secondary education.

However, I believe that providing statutory formal schooling is still the key factor to subdue the high unemployment rate. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that the knowledge and skills from grade nine to grade twelve are essential requirements of most employers. Since primary education only teaches people basic literacy, it would not be enough to qualify in any job vacancies. Advanced knowledge from the secondary schooling would secure an occupation for people and lower the unemployment rate.

In conclusion, I think that governments should continue to offer secondary education to the residents because of its positive effect on the current unemployment rate. After all, such level of study provides students with fundamental preparations for their job hunting.