Given high unemployment rate, it is recommended that the government only provide primary education and no secondary education. What do you think?

Some people hold the view that because of the high jobless rate, government only needs to support lowest level of education and skip the higher one. This essay will point out some evidences to refuse this thought.

First and foremost, this solution is just a short term one. The knowledge and skills from secondary schools are essential requirements for most employers. Learning only basic skills is not enough in any work later. Advanced knowledge will provide many chances to find a well-paid and stable job.

Another reason that needs to be taken into account to refuse this view is that high unemployment rate remains mainly due to lack of jobs, not because of education. Moreover, while there are so many workforce, there is few job available. Well-trained employees are more likely to get jobs. So, why do we have to reduce education?

It would be a mistake to focus on only one side of this argument. Obviously, a large amount of budget devotes to build schools and to hire teachers. However, it is not always the case. Investing on education is a long term goal, which can be effective compared to any other investment. Additionally, government should focus on job orientation and practical experiences rather than academic lessons.

All in all, this brings to the conclusion that government should continue providing secondary education as well as supporting good preparation for finding jobs in the future.