A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Some people argue that since the citizens’ safety is the government’s responsibility, it should increase the budget on defense and decrease the spend on social welfare. I disagree with this point of view because many consequences will follow this financial reduction for social benefits.

To begin with, a budget cut on social benefits will negatively interfere with the progression of the society. Firstly, public healthcare will probably be one of the first areas to be affected by this reduction. Without this service, people must pay a large amount of money for hospital bills and medicines. Consequently, many people, especially poor people, will be apt for staying at staying at home rather than going to a hospital for appropriate treatments. Secondly, the money for education will also likely be cut off while this is the deciding factor in the national strength. The government can try to prevent crimes by increase the military appearance in the street. However, this may not be the most efficient way to prevent crimes. A more well-educated population will have a low crime rate because people will have a higher chance of securing a job and a better understanding of laws. For some country like Finland, the criminals have access to books and vocational education, the proportion of released prisoners who recommit a crime is low.

Secondly, the money for national defense, if not distributed wisely, can create many problems. Firstly, the money for ammunition or weaponry is already enormous and it will be larger if the cost of maintenance of equipment is taken into consideration as specialized personnel is required for this process. Secondly, this huge budget can create a loophole for embezzlement since it is usually sacrilegious to question the money spend on national defense. As a result, a substantial amount of money can be cut without reduce the country’s defensive power.

In conclusion, it is not advantageous to trade off the social benefits for national defense.