Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Discuss and give your opinion.

One of the most controversial issues today related to the investment of government. While there are some benefits in spending money on public services, I still believe that investing tax-payers’ money in the arts is virtually reasonable.

It is undoubtable for some argue that public services should be allocated a significant amount of government budget. To start with, public services are vital things such as schools, hospitals, public transportation systems or other services which are considered as the standards of life quality of a certain country’s citizens. Moreover, it is widely accepted that if governments do not expend money on these services, the poor or the people who are low status will be affected more because they are the ones depending on such services. Especially, people’s knowledge and health are the key of a fortune country, that why public services for people need to be one of the government’s priorities.

By contrast, I have a strong belief that governments are not squandering tax-payers’ money when the arts are invested from their budget. This is mainly due to the fact that the arts affect positively to spiritual life of people. Besides, some types of arts such as traditional music or dances are the spectacular characteristics of a nation that attract tourists and bring profit to the country. Furthermore, some theatre and museum of arts may have to close without the financial assistance of governments, therefore people who love the arts and the culture of their country may be affected.

In conclusion, there are clear benefits in expanding a huge amount of government budget on public service. But investing in the arts is not a waste of money due to its positive influences on people and countries that were analyzed above.