The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, it is impossible to deny the fact that both sciences and non-science subjects play crucial part in our society. Whether governments should allocate more funds to science subjects has sparked a heated debate. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that sciences are the core elements of a society and every other subjects can only progress on the wings of sciences, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, science subjects train students critical thinking with questions related to technology, environment and medicine. For instance, by studying sciences subjects, scientists and engineers designed and developed technologies on internet and smart phones, while doctors and researchers innovated and discovered new medicines for cancer and other long-term diseases. In this case, sciences completely change how the world operates and improve everyone’s health. Without sciences, information and ideas are hard to get across between nations and individuals, and large number of people will suffer from cancer and other long-term diseases. As a result, governments should invest more funds in technology development and medicine research projects.

Furthermore, another reason making sciences more important than other subjects is that it increased productivity. The advanced machines and manufacturing processes developed by engineers and scientists were found to increase 70% of the productivity in China in the last decade according to one of the studies done by University of New South Wales. Therefore, sciences boosted productivity of a nation and ultimately lead to economic growth.

In conclusion, governments must allocate additional funds to technology, medicine and research related subjects as they increase productivity and improve everyone’s living standards. Education of these subjects should also be encouraged with related scholarships and advanced facilities.