The government should allocate more funding to teaching sciences rather than other subjects in order for a country to develop and progress.

To what extent do you agree?

The level of scientific research represents the national power of a country. I totally agree with the view that the government should spend more money on teaching sciences rather than other subjects like arts and humanities.

First and foremost, the progress of sciences is the foundation of economic growth. In today’s globalized world, competition between countries is fierce, and scientific progress is the key for one country to outcompete others. This is because technology advancement is based on the solid grasp of scientific knowledge, especially in this age when technology is becoming more intricate than ever before. Therefore, by allocating more funding to teaching sciences, the government will help prepare a well-educated workforce and researchers for the future, contributing to the success of the economy.

Secondly, spending more on science teaching will improve people’s lives directly. All the tools and technology we use today are the products of sciences. For instance, researches in medical science bring us the cure for the incurable in the past, while the development of telecommunication and computer science offers us numerous electronic devices like smartphones and personal computers, which makes our lives more convenient and helps us to work efficiently. For that reason, more government’s spending on science subjects will benefit every citizen in our country.

Some argue that other disciplines such as arts and humanities are of equal importance to sciences because these subjects benefit us culturally. For example, learning art helps people to appreciate the beauty of artworks. However, I do not believe that these benefits are in the same league as sciences bring us. Today many people are still living under the bread line, and the widening wealth disparity has made the situation even worse. It is unrealistic to expect these poor people to learn about aesthetic appreciation.

In conclusion, spending more funding on scientific indoctrination will have overwhelmingly positive effects on society, and this is the sound strategy that the government should adopt.