Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents are the best teachers.

Quite contrary to the common belief, I think that parents are important teachers to children, but whether they are the best depends on other factors.

It is sound to say that parents serve as role models for children. Since the birth of children, parents are the closest companies for children. And children cannot stop but imitate how parents behave, so we can say that the personalities and traits of parents will be inherited by children. If parents are well-mannered and sophisticated, it is very likely that children will also be so. Besides, parents are the first people who teach children moral values, basic knowledge about the world and language skills from the very beginning since children come to the earth; therefore parents are undeniably important teachers to children.

However, when it comes to deciding who are the best teachers, I think school teachers are preferable to parents. Given the fact that competition in today’s world is so intense, and children at the tender age have to spend the majority of their time in schools, school teachers are definitely children’s most profound influencers. Also, school teachers usually have professional knowledge and rich experience in dealing with different kinds of children, while under the trend of shrinking home sizes, parents may only have one child and lack sufficient skills in children rearing. Moreover, the education level of parents matters. Many parents without well-educated backgrounds are likely to ignore children’s psychological development, especially for kids who suffer from mental illnesses such as autism. As a result, poorly-educated parents cannot handle these “problematic” kids better than school teachers.

To sum up, I think whether parents are the best teachers largely depends on parents’ education background. And from the reasons mentioned above, I do not believe that every parent is children’s best teachers.