The government should allocate more funds to public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music, painting and so on. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion.

The manner in which the budget of a country should be invested is extremely debatable. Presently, it is argued that instead of spending on art and cultural activities, employing public funds for the communal services holds tremendous importance. Here, I would like to accord with the given statement.

Numerous points can be put down to support my point of view. First and foremost, Education and employment are the most pressing needs in some countries. Therefore, such public services deserve more attention than art and music. Taking the example of my country, India, into consideration, my country is a developing country and it is densely populated. Providing quality education and employment opportunities to such large population requires a huge investment of public funds. A number of schools are required to be made so that students of all categories and castes can become educated. In addition, the establishment of new factories, industries and complexes is the strongest solution to address unemployment and a huge investment is needed to make it happen. It is, thus, quite clear that education and employment services should be kept on the top of the table of priority lists. Otherwise, financial investment made for music and art, ignoring such public services, would definitely be considered a waste of public funds.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, health and transport are two another basic needs which should be placed above cultural activities.

To be specific, in some developing and under developed nations, the standard of health services is not up to the mark. Therefore, a massive number of people who die out because of diseases would be saved if advancement is brought in the health sector by making investments in the medical researches. Besides this, development in the transport especially in the rural areas is already in great demand in the countries. Hence, basic communal amenities are of greater significance than music and art.

To recapitulate, undeniably, taking care of cultural heritage by encouraging art activities is meaningful. I, however, still believe that in the existence of illiteracy, unemployment and average health system, the promotion of art and music is undoubtedly a waste of money. Thence, above mentioned public facilities need improvement first than anything else.