The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order to decrease violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The controversy arises when governments manage violent information in mass media such as news, televisions and online videos. In my opinion, although limiting the amount of violent film and TV programs is a good way to downgrade violent crimes, the key to resolve the issue is to use legislation and education methods.

On the one hand, reducing violence on TV would certainly be a good start to decreasing violence among people. Media really has a lot of power to influence people and the most alarming effect is on the children and youth. Teenagers are so vulnerable and immature that they cannot judge whether the activities performed in mass media are right or not. So, viewing some violent behavior in a movie or on television makes them try to reproduce that situation in real life and commit violence. Furthermore, an excessive content of violence arouses people's aggressiveness. Consequently, they believe things can be solved by violence and utilize it as an approach to deal with conflicts in the real world.

However, watching violent movies does not directly make one violent. A huge amount of crimes happened definitely because criminals have never received enough education. The degree to which people are influenced by what they see in the media depends directly on how they are educated about social responsibility and personal accountability. Furthermore, a relax legal system also encourages offenders to commit a crime. Therefore, it is better to adopt a strict law system to solve and control crime problems.

In conclusion, while the amount of violence in the media should be restricted by the government because it is linked to crimes and social issues, I believe this is not a root solution for violent crimes. Instead, the government should more focus on the education of young adults and the national legal system.