The government should spend money on railway rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Today, it is hard for us to imagine what the society would look like without the two most important transportation methods, trains and cars. However there is a long going argue about which one mean the government should focus on more than the other. In my opinion, they all have advantages and disadvantages, and the priority should be decided on what we are trying to achieve in the future world.

Railway has always played an important role in leading us into modern society. As the first high-speed transportation method ever developed on earth, they are still crucial to us in terms of both delivering the goods and the passengers. They rely less on human resource than the automobiles since two people are fully capable of driving an eight-cart train with tons of resources across the country, while maybe ten trucks that all requires professional drivers can only carry goods equivalent to one cart of the train. They still remain the cheapest option of transferring goods from place to place, being the best option to spend money on if the society still requires development.

However, if the country is already wealthy enough and most people care less about development but comfort. It would then be a great idea to focus more on building the roads. The biggest disadvantage of the railway is that they cannot access to the exact destination of request immediately. Nevertheless cars is a more precise way of travel, bringing the benefit of not needed for other kinds of transportation most of the time. In this scenario, roads are more important than railroads, as they have a higher demand.

Overall, I think every coin spend on both will be worth it, the problem is only how to choose in order to maximise the profit. In my opinion, a developing country should try to spend more money on railway, and developed country should definitely try their best to improve automobile network.