1. A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is true that in nowadays society, personal wealth and social status puts more worth on a person than ever before. We can see the number of YouTube and Instagram influencers on the rise because being in a profession like this could potentially help you to have more exposure and earn more money without getting a good education and previous work experiences. Meanwhile, even for those who did get a decent education, there are more graduates from universities and colleges are stepping into jobs such as investment bankers and business consultants instead of working in traditional professions such as teachers and doctors because they do not earn as much. Those who earn less than their peers will feel enormous pressure from not only their friends but also their family and society as a whole.

Nevertheless, there is no reason to suggest that old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust are not as important as the old days. In fact, the people that do not follow these values are punished more harshly than before due to the Internet. If a celebrity or politician caught cheating or spreads racism on camera, they will soon be punished by millions of Internet users and lose their fame or reputation in a few hours. Moreover, they are not going to be easily forgiven or forgot as the past, since there will always be records on the Internet no matter how many years. Thus overall, the cost of not following old-fashioned values is really expensive because in evaluating the social status and material possessions, these are counted in as well.