Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railways and roads are two very common transportation options for a modern city. When it comes to the priority of government investment, people express different voices. Some say both of them deserve an equal attention, some prefer roads over railways, while I, personally lean to the railways.

Railways is much more environmentally friendly. Unlike cars, people could not find a exhaust system built in any recent train. This is a concrete indication that implies less emission, since almost all nowadays railway solutions are powered by electricity. In addition, railways occupy less ground and can be expanded in a three dimension manner which is believed a very good approach to limit the environment impact.

From consumer's perspective, railways are offering better user experiences. Punctuation is the most significant one. Many the modern city suffers from traffic jam due to the increasing number of vehicles owned by families and business entities, while in the other hands, railways, by their nature, are immure to this problem. Because all systems are supposed to be running on a delicate tempo and they are many supervisions to prevent them from losing synchronization. On top of punctuation, users would seldom have a bumpy ride on railways. When a roads is easily getting lacking for maintenance, and it would become degraded rapidly, but the rails are always under close monitoring leaving it no chance to degrade.

Roads are definitely useful under certain situations. Like building a train station in a town with relative small population may not be a financially wise choice, it makes roads the best complementary solution for these remote settlements.

With all above opinions considered, I would agree that government should increase the fund towards the railways than roads in general, but still, they should have a case-by-case analysis to put the money in the most efficient and effective use.