Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is not hard to find schools' preference on choosing the subjects: they spend more time on teaching traditional subjects such as history. With the respect to these subjects, I think that modern school should spend more time in teaching skills, or more generically, application related subjects.

Unless born in wealth, the majority of population has to find a way to make a living nowadays, that means everyone requires a handful of skills to be employed. However if school spends more time on teaching individuals subjects like history, it means less time in letting them refine their skills. Thus the graduates may possess too little practical knowledge to be employed and eventually to make their living, not too mention their families. It is not even sane to support everyone's daily expense by the government so it has to be the school responsibility to arm the graduates. Furthermore, the competition of getting a job is intensified over the years during this globalization era, so none of the government would want their young men lacking of strength on the stage.

Another interesting aspect is that unlike those application oriented knowledge, without a daily usage of these traditional subjects, people tend to be forgetting what has been taught in the school. It almost equals to black out a good time span of the students for nothing. What even worse is that subjects like history may be manipulated by the government itself. Some occasions show that later elected authorities re-write the history books for they were biased. So what is the point to teach stories that has been deliberately fabricated in the first place?

But that is not to say these subjects could be eliminated completely. If the society only expects its younger generation nothing but muscles, the whole population would ultimately become a machine or ant-like hierarchy. People must to be respectful towards their ancestors and where they are from and more importantly how they end up here.

With all aspects considered, I think it is good for school to spend more time on application related skills to help boots its graduates competitiveness, but still keep a good amount of attentions to other abstract subjects.