Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that authorities should spend a large expenditure of funds for improving and building railways rather than making better road systems. In my point of view, transportation should be balanced between roads and railways.

There is no doubt that there are a lot of advantages that railways bring to people. Firstly, trains are safer than private vehicles because they ride on railways, this means that there are no other means of transport traveling on it, leading to significantly decrease the rate of accidents than cars, buses which are driven on roads. Secondly, it is also a powerful tool for addressing overpopulation in urban areas. For instance, citizens can live in their village instead of migrating to metropolitan areas by using speed trains. Last but not least, most modern trains are operated by electricity which is environmentally friendly in comparison to private vehicles producing exhaust fumes that are harmful for people’s health and can cause some diseases related to lungs.

Nevertheless, no one can get door-to-door access to their final destination only by using railways. It is known that, once you get off from a train either you have to walk a little further or take a taxi to reach the point, hence, the roads are necessary and should connect each endpoint. In other words, they are ideal for short distances where trains can not be used. Moreover, roads are considered to be the lifeline of a country. With regards to allocating budgets to roads, one of the key reasons for this is that constructing and maintaining roads will solve the problem of traffic jams resulted from the mass-production of vehicles as well as boost road safety because every individual prefers to have their own car or bikes for their traveling purpose which leads to an enhancement in traffic congestion.

To sum up, I firmly believe that allocating funds and developing only the railway network is not the solution. The development of road networks as well as the trainline should also be equally considered to build excellent transportation infrastructure.