The government spends about 220 million pounds a year supporting museums and art galleries in the UK and a similar amount subsidising the visual and performing arts This is a huge sum to spend on minority interests and the money would be better spent on m

Some articles reported that British government invests about $220 million annually to sudsidise museums and galleries and spend less money on visual and performing art. It may be true that the government should invest on other important issues. However, this essay agree that government should put more fund on cultural activities.

First of all, culture is important for human being who lived in the society. Every race and nationality have their unique culture. No matter their art, language and history should be essential for identification of nationality. Therefore, corresponding cultural activities should be highly promoted to every citizen to enhance their sense of belongings to their country. Nonetheless, less and less people in modern world emphasise on cultural development and conservative. They put emphasis on the progression of technology and knowledge acquirement. The lack of cultural sense may result the lost of justification and become materialistic. Promoting and subsidising the cultural event may arouse the public awareness and ease for holding art event.

Second, the difficulties of holding and maintaining museums and galleries increase largely because of the lack public awareness of such field. Moreover, lack of support in money and manpower is also barrier for their working. If people who are interested in cultural field are suggested to pay for their event, few events will not survive due to most of art is the minority interests. If government supports the funding to maintain and hold the art and cultural related events, it will enhance the chance for them to explode in front of the citizens.

To conclude, culture is essential and vital part of a recognition of an nationality. This also help building up the all-round society. As a result, government should try their best to promote this issue to their inhabitants. Despite spending larger amount of money, the effect of the investing is still encouraging.