Governments should provide care and finance for retired people while others believe that people themselves should save money when they get older. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that when people advance into their golden years, they require more help and attention. Although I believe that the elderly who stopped working should be provided pension and support from the government, they also need to have their own savings.

On the one hand, it is necessary for the government to look after and provide financial aid for retired citizens since they all have made certain contributions to society and the nation's economy through paying the taxes. In addition, the elderly people who have stopped working need to draw a pension to get access to basic amenities such as food, accommodation, and health…, especially when their children are far away. So that, as a way to ensure the inhabitants' life, the government ought to offer the elderly money-related assistance and care services, for example, regular free-of-charge health checkups and discounted medicines.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why the inhabitants who have stopped working need to have a certain amount of money by saving. To begin with, the allowance from the authorities is only adequate to meet basic living needs but can not pay for other expenditures, among which entertainment, fashion or travel are typical examples. Therefore, the retired citizens have to save their own money to satisfy those demands. The second reason is that relying entirely on governmental support can cause a huge financial burden on the state budget. This is because the public funding is used to spend on fields which are essential in deciding the comprehensive development of the nation. Spending excessive amounts of money on public welfare will harm the budget used to solve pressing social issues such as environmental pollution or the housing crisis.

In conclusion, while providing financial support and attention to citizens who have retired is indispensable, I still contend that there is also a need for them to have a sum of money from saving to fulfill all the requirements, which can not be paid just by the benefits from the government.