Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Transportation plays an important role in boosting the tendency of development and globalization. Additionally, the public also raises concern about pollution which is caused by personal vehicles. I believe that focusing on improving the railway system rather than roads may help humans take advantage of both economic development and environmental protection.

To begin with, road transportation is the first means in human history and also plays an essential role in our life. However, nowadays, many disadvantages appear, especially in developing countries like countries in South East Asia. To cite an example, Vietnam traffic is quite chaotic and crazy with a lot of personal vehicles that leads to traffic congestion, wasting time and money. Moreover, it causes not only air pollution due to greenhouse gas but also sound pollution. Although, the government and authorities have been working hard together to come up with the idea to upgrade road infrastructure and awareness of travelers, it is a hurdle task because the city population is growing more and more while the land for expanding or building new roads is limited.

In contrast, developed countries own wide ranges of transportation means, especially rail transportation. In the past, trains required fossil fuel for running causing pollution too. However, thanks to the development of science, many state-of-the-art technologies have been applied to this sector. Experts believe that the high-speed train system is a key of Japanese mystery after World War II while China, nowadays, owns the longest high-speed system. Many countries both developing and developed also join this tendency. High-speed train transportation still has many potential for development because of its advantages. Firstly, it is the most convenient means of transportation when compared to the others. Although traveling by plane is the fastest one, its procedures such as check-in, check-out… cost a lot of time. Additionally, flights are often delayed due to safety problems and detrimental weather. Secondly, in terms of safety, traveling by train is very outstanding. Aforementioned, the high-speed system of Japan, called Shinkansen system, since its beginning in the 1960s, has never experienced any regrettable accidents that caused loss of life. Meanwhile, when it comes to road transportation means, everyday there are many reports about disasters around the world. Another reason supporting the idea of enhancing railways is due to significant economic profits. Except for saving time for individuals and society, the governments seem to pay more to build new systems, but in the long term, the expense for keeping its action and upgrading is less than other means. Last but not least, it also helps us protect our environment. As I mentioned before, the noble train system uses the-state-of-the-art technologies that require renewable energy such as solar, wind electricity emitting less greenhouse gasses. Furthermore, the more people taking trains for transportation, the less personal vehicles they use. It eases pressure for road transportation and protects our environment, too.

In conclusion, to deal with transportation problems is not an easy task. By concentrating on public means such as investing, upgrading and building the train system, we can make life more convenient while saving our planet.