Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the past few decades the economy has been booming. This leads to the expansion of public transport system in a lot of countries. Although there are some people who believe that funding should be spent on railways rather than roads, I believe that this should be considered in particular circumstances.

On the one hand, since population is growing much faster, subsequently people crave for more private transportation, which calls for excellent Road systems. The more extensive it is, the more convenience it brings for people in regions around the world. In some cases, road system is the only choice for people because the area is situated in the mountainous area or on a steep plateau. Moreover, the cost of freeway construction will cost less when compared to that of railways.

However, it is also a good idea if the government can expand the railroads. First of all, since many people share the use of the railroad, the expense of commuting is reduced to a so much lower price. As a matter of fact, people give up their own vehicle to travel to work or to school every day so the air pollution or traffic jam will be avoided at a better rate. Also, the cost of the logistics will be reduced and therefore leads to an increase in overall economy.

To conclude, I don't think that the government should either allocate more budgets on railways than roads or vice versa. It should be based on considerable measurements before the government spend the money on each type of means of transportation that they prefer for each region.