Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

People have different views about whether the official council should invest more in the railroad. Personally, I completely agree that the government should put more resources into the extension of the railway system.

For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to spend more money on roads. Firstly, although building a wider road can alleviate the problem of traffic congestion, it also encourages citizens to drive their own automobiles daily. According to the report from Hong Kong Environment Protection Department, emission from cars is a major source of air pollution. Secondly, the return of extending road is not ideal because traditional public transportation is not popular at the present. For example, personally I only took buses when I was a student since there was no subway. As a result, more resources are put into a construction project, but it might have a harmful impact on our community.

Above from practical concerns expressed, I also believe that it is worth to have a railway expansion. The government should have a greater concern that public budget should be spent on public service and meet the needs of the public, such as infrastructure and economic development. In the first place, Building a larger mass transport railway can promote economic growth. MTR in Hong Kong is the most rapid railway in the world, which carries over 5 million passengers per day. Another reason is that tourists around the world can visit different attractions and spots and this probably can stimulate the tourism industry.

In conclusion, I fully agree that more public expenditure should be spent on the development of the subway.